April 24, 2014
9:34 am

Killer Classic - Aerosmith "Toys In The Attic"

Toys in the Attic is the third Aerosmith album, released in April 1975 by Columbia Records. The album's first single, "Sweet Emotion", was released a month later on May 19 and "Walk This Way" was later released on August 28 in the same year. The album is their most commercially successful studio LP in the United States, with eight million copies sold.

Steven Tyler said that his original idea for the album cover was a teddy bear sitting in the attic with its wrist cut and stuffing spread across the floor. They decided, in the end, to put all of the animals in instead.

The album was ranked #228 on Rolling Stone's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. The album's title track is part of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll list.

For Aerosmith's previous album, 1974's Get Your Wings, the band began working with record producer Jack Douglas, who co-produced the album with Ray Colcord. Even though in the liner notes to the 1993 reissue of Greatest Hits it was said by an unnamed member of the group that they "nailed" the album, it was not a hit, only reaching #74 on the Billboard 200 and none of the album's singles charted.

At the beginning of 1975 the band started working at The Record Plant in New York City for the album that became Toys in the Attic. The sessions for Toys were produced by Jack Douglas without Ray Colcord.

When Toys in the Attic was released in April 1975, it eventually made #11 on the Billboard 200, a full 63 positions higher than Get Your Wings. The single release of "Sweet Emotion" became a minor hit on the Billboard Hot 100 reaching #36 in 1975 and "Walk This Way" reached #10 on the Hot 100 in 1977. The album also introduced to contemporary audiences "Big Ten Inch Record," an old R&B song originally recorded by Bull Moose Jackson in 1952.

Track listing
Side One  
No. Title Writer(s) Length              
1. "Toys in the Attic"   Steven Tyler, Joe Perry 3:07              
2. "Uncle Salty"   Tyler, Tom Hamilton 4:09              
3. "Adam's Apple"   Tyler 4:33              
4. "Walk This Way"   Tyler, Perry 3:41              
5. "Big Ten Inch Record"   Fred Weismantel 2:16              
Side Two  
No. Title Writer(s) Length              
1. "Sweet Emotion"   Tyler, Hamilton 4:34              
2. "No More No More"   Tyler, Perry 4:34              
3. "Round and Round"   Tyler, Brad Whitford 5:03              
4. "You See Me Crying"   Tyler, Darren Solomon 5:12              
Total length: 37:08              
  • Steven Tyler – vocals, harmonica, percussion, piano on "You See My Crying"
  • Joe Perry – lead guitar, backing vocals, talkbox on "Sweet Emotion"
  • Tom Hamilton – bass, rhythm guitar on "Uncle Salty"
  • Joey Kramer – drums, percussion
  • Brad Whitford – rhythm guitar, lead guitar on "Round and Round" and "You See Me Crying"
Additional musicians
  • Scott Cushnie – piano on "Big Ten Inch Record" and "No More No More"
  • Jay Messina – bass marimba on "Sweet Emotion"
Filed Under :
Location : New York City
weather sponsored by: Davis and Green

On-Air Now