August 20, 2014
4:59 pm

Killer Classic - Steve Miller "The Joker"

Sponsored by

Released in 1973, The Joker is the Steve Miller Band’s 8th album. It marked a period of significant change for the group as the band abandoned their psychedelic oriented music for a more melodic, smooth rock/blues sound. Perhaps not coincidentally, it was also their first solid commercial success due to the strong radio-play of the title track. The title track took 19 days to record. The album reached #2 on the Billboard 200and has been certified Platinum in the United States.
The artwork of the album is also considered amongst the greatest; for example Rolling Stone would later rank it as one of the "Top 100 Album Covers Of All Time".
Track listing
1.    "Sugar Babe" (Steve Miller) – 4:35
2.    "Mary Lou" (Obie JessieSam Ling) – 2:24
3.    "Shu Ba Da Du Ma Ma Ma Ma" (Miller) – 5:41
4.    "Your Cash Ain't Nothin' but Trash" (Chuck Calhoun) – 3:21
5.    "The Joker" (Miller, Eddie CurtisAhmet Ertegün) – 4:26
6.    "Lovin' Cup" (Miller) – 2:10
7.    "Come On in My Kitchen" (live) (Robert Johnson) – 4:06
8.    "Evil" (live) (Miller) – 4:35
9.    "Something to Believe In" (Miller) – 4:41
·         Steve Miller – guitarvocals
·         Gerald Johnson – bass guitar, vocals
·         Dick Thompson – keyboards
·         John King – drums
Filed Under :
weather sponsored by: Davis and Green

On-Air Now