August 30, 2014
5:18 am

Killer Classic - T-Rex "Electric Warrior"

Sponsored by:

Electric Warrior is album number 6 by T. Rex. It’s the second album under the name "T. Rex". The first four were billed as "Tyrannosaurus Rex". The album marks a big turning point in the band's sound as it drifts away from the folk-oriented music of the previous albums and takes on a new music genre, glam rock. The album also drew attention to the band in the USA with the massive hit "Bang A Gong (Get It On)".
The album contains two of T. Rex's most popular songs, "Get It On" and "Jeepster". In the United States, "Get It On" was modified to "Bang a Gong (Get It On)" to distinguish it from Chase's song "Get It On", which was also released in late 1971. (The printing of the song title "Bang a Gong (Get It On)" on the back cover of original Reprise Records US copies of Electric Warrior is obviously in a different typeface to the surrounding text, with the song's original title retained when printing the lyrics.) "Get It On" was T. Rex's biggest selling single, and became the band's only top 10 US hit after appearing on the soundtrack of Jarhead in 2005.
Electric Warrior reached number thirty-two in the US Billboard 200 chart. It went to number one on the UK Albums Chart, and stayed there for several weeks, becoming the best-selling album there in 1971.
In 2003, the album was ranked number 160 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums of All Time" list.
Track listing
All songs written and composed by Marc Bolan
No. Title Length  
1. "Mambo Sun"   3:40  
2. "Cosmic Dancer"   4:30  
3. "Jeepster"   4:12  
4. "Monolith"   3:49  
5. "Lean Woman Blues"   3:02  
6. "Get It On"   4:27  
7. "Planet Queen"   3:13  
8. "Girl"   2:32  
9. "The Motivator"   4:00  
10. "Life's a Gas"   2:24  
11. "Rip Off"   3:40  
Filed Under :
People : Marc Bolan
On-Air Now